Erasmus enables university-level students and staff as well as staff of organisations and institutions participating in higher education to study and work abroad. In addition to universities, companies whose experts can participate in a teaching process at the university level can take part in Erasmus programmes. Students can do their practical training and staff can apply for continuing professional development courses within the programme.  


Erasmus+ mobility

Erasmus+ mobility consists of individual student and staff mobility programmes. Students can study or do their practical training abroad, while academic staff can give lectures or apply for professional development courses. In comparison, non-academic staff (student administration office staff, library staff, Office for International Cooperation, Scientific and Research Projects staff, etc.) can apply for continuing professional development courses. In addition to individual mobility, students can apply for intensive programmes, i.e. summer or winter schools where participants from at least three different countries learn about topics not usually covered in the programme. Finally, students can apply for Erasmus intensive language courses. Those are specialised language courses organised for less widely used and taught languages. For example, if a student wants to study in Finland, he/she can take pre-sessional classes in Finnish language.


Application procedure

Institutions awarded with the Erasmus University Charter can apply for Erasmus programmes. Agency for Mobility and EU Programmes will provide financial support for the realisation of activities. One should notice that students and staff do not apply for the programmes directly to the Agency for Mobility and EU Programmes; they apply to their institutions that provide them with financial support.


Mobility duration

Mobility duration depends on activities and target groups. Students who apply for Erasmus programmes to study and do their practical training can spend from 3 to 12 months abroad. Academic staff applying for Erasmus programmes to give lectures can spend from 2 days to 2 months abroad. Staff applying for professional development Erasmus programmes can spend from 2 days to 2 months abroad. Days one spends travelling are included in the mobility period.


Erasmus mobility countries

27 EU member states, EFTA countries - Iceland, Liechtenstein, Norway and EU candidate country Turkey participate in Erasmus programmes.

Useful links to apply for Erasmus+ mobility programmes are as follows: (for students) (for staff)




EUROWEB+ is a scholarship programme for students on undergraduate, master, doctoral and post-doctoral level, as well as for university staff in academic or administrative positions, financed by the European Commission.

The EUROWEB+ Scholarship Programme is open to selected nationals in the EU countries and the Western Balkans who want to study or work at one of the partner institutions.

The overall objective of the EUROWEB+ project is to create a partnership in research and education with the aim of strengthening the ties between the EU member states and the Western Balkans.

The official project webpage is available at


The EUROWEB Scholarship covers:

- Travel and visa costs including one round trip flight ticket between a home and a host University. The costs, however, may not exceed a pre-defined maximum amount, based on the travel distance between the two places (

- A monthly subsistence allowance

- Tuition fees up to 3000 EURO per 10 months, paid to a host institution. (For mobility with duration less than 10 months, tuition fee waiver policy will be applied).


Outgoing students and staff mobility

Undergraduate, master, doctoral, postdoctoral students and staff members from the University of Osijek can apply for the Euroweb+ scholarship to finance a mobility period in one of the nine project partners in the Western Balkans: 

   •  University of Elbasan "Aleksander Xhuvani", Albania 
   •  Polytechnic University of Tirana, Albania 
   •  University of Sarajevo, Bosnia and Herzegovina 
   •  Džemal Bijedić University of Mostar, Bosnia and Herzegovina 
   •  University of Banja Luka, Bosnia and Herzegovina 
   •  University Mediterranean Podgorica, Montenegro 
   •  University of Niš, Serbia 
   •  University of Belgrade, Serbia 
   •  University of Novi Sad, Serbia


EUROWEB+ Partners

Our Euroweb+ partner institutions are as follows:

From the European Union

Mälardalen University, Sweden (Coordinator)

Universita degli Studi dell'Aquila, Italy

VU University Amsterdam, The Netherlands

Universität Paderborn, Germany

Åbo Akademi University, Finland

Sofia University St. Kliment Ohridski, Bulgaria

Politehnica University Bucharest, Romania

University of Osijek, Croatia

Universitat de les Illes Balears, Spain


From the Western Balkans


University of Sarajevo, Bosnia and Herzegovina -

University of Niš, Serbia

 University of Novi Sad, Serbia

 Džemal Bijedić University of Mostar, Bosnia and Herzegovina

 University of Banja Luka, Bosnia and Herzegovina

 University of Belgrade, Serbia

 University Mediterranean Podgorica, Montenegro

 University of Elbasan "Aleksander Xhuvani", Albania

 Polytechnic University of Tirana, Albania


Contact person

Dr. Snježana Rimac-Drlje, Full Professor 
Vice-Dean for International Cooperation and Erasmus coordinator
Telephone: +385 (0) 31 224 759
Fax: +385 (0) 31 224 605